Chugoku locates on west coast of Honshu Island. Five prefectures of Tottori, Shimane, Okayama, Hiroshima, and Yamaguchi belong to this region. Also, this region can separate into two areas north and south. North side is called San-in, which faces to Sea of Japan side. South side is called San-yo, which faces to Inland Sea of Japan side. Chugoku region, literally means middle country in Japanese, is named as it is because of the distance from Kyoto, a former capital city, is not too far but not too close. Their area is in middle range. There are many islands in Inland Sea of Japan, and they are great sights. Also, Tottori is famous for their sand dune. Hiroshima, the famous atomic bombed city is the biggest city in this area. Atomic Bomb Dome is tragic but great sight to visit.

  • Yamaguchi
  • Shimane
  • Hiroshima
  • Tottori
  • Okayama